FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Svt Suspension
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Like I said before, my svt suspension has arrived. I want to install it myself but I've heard alot of horror stories, so it makes me kinda weary about the whole thing. I know I CAN do it, it is possible, but should I? I'm not a auto mechanic but am mechanically inclined due to my career. I've seen and read a few "how to's" for the install, doesn't seem too hard, but not having impact tools could render me helpless. What should I do? and if you've done it, let me know what to expect. Thanks.
I know that some guys had problems with rusty bolts and not being able to take them off.

I dont have that problem, snow & salt dont touch those bolts. One reason why I dont drive her in the winter. ;)

Take your time, it took me 4.5 hours to do my FK kit & polyurethane bushing kit, so it should take you about the same. Experienced mechs, could do it in 2 hours or less.

I did have air tools, so that helped, I also rented a spring compressor, but we only used it for the front struts.....

Flofocus,Oct 27 2005, 02:41 PM Wrote:I know that some guys had problems with rusty bolts and not being able to take them off.

I dont have that problem, snow & salt dont touch those bolts.  One reason why I dont drive her in the winter.  ;)

Take your time, it took me 4.5 hours to do my FK kit & polyurethane bushing kit, so it should take you about the same.  Experienced mechs, could do it in 2 hours or less.

I did have air tools, so that helped, I also rented a spring compressor, but we only used it for the front struts.....
[right][snapback]151955[/snapback][/right]