FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Guages Have A Mind Of Their Own
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ok Im kinda new to the focus community heres my problem sometimes when I start my 2000 focus zx3 all of the guages will peg and then return to there normal positions ,the car starts fine Ive noticed it does it more often when the car is cold I was thinking it was the battery but the car seems to start fine . Anyone have similar problems?? Thanks in advance.
how long does it do it for?
Fuel sending unit. A common problem.
2001 ZTS,Feb 26 2005, 08:31 PM Wrote:Fuel sending unit. A common problem.
[right][snapback]89592[/snapback][/right]

yep...I'm having the same problem with my gas gauge in the 03'
Its not a problem, they all do it. It is a self test. It only lasts a few seconds
the promblem is that you own a '00 focus :lol:
They do "sweep" once at start and cold may slow it down but if things go "crazy" that is not right. The "sweep" is mentioned in the owners manual if you have one, if not a dealer could get one for you, probably twenty well spent dollars.

Welcome and don't mind us we are sort of nuts, especially "en weekend"
They're supposed to do a full sweep... let's you know they're working :P a lot of car manufacturers make a big deal out of the fact that their cars do that. My girlfriend only noticed mine do that this weekend and she freaked out... thought the car was gonna blow up or something... I told her only Jay's cars do that kinda thing... the gauges were okay...
Do they do that each time? I'd swear mine doesn't. The only time I've seen my gauge cluster do that is when I reset the ECU last week.
bad moon is raising
Someone post a link to that Odometer ECU monitor trick.
hold the reset then turn the car to accel but not on and do some other things and then your gauges go carazy
[Image: caution.jpg]