FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: So I Clay Bared My Car, Job Complete
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ok I'm going to clay bar the Focus. I have never done this before and I was wondering on what steps to follow to get the best results. I know that I would start by washing and drying the car. Would my next step be doing the clay bar? Also after I have completed that step would I need to apply a good wax? Something like a carnauba wax.

When applying the wax would it be best to do it by hand or can I use my random orbital buffer? Any assistance I can get would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Completed the task, Pic's @ the end
Focus man, Focus.,Apr 4 2009, 08:39 AM Wrote:Ok I'm going to clay bar the Focus.  I have never done this before and I was wondering on what steps to follow to get the best results.  I know that I would start by washing and drying the car.  Would my next step be doing the clay bar?  Also after I have completed that step would I need to apply a good wax?  Something like a carnauba wax. 

When applying the wax would it be best to do it by hand or can I use my random orbital buffer?  Any assistance I can get would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
[right][snapback]284206[/snapback][/right]

IIRC (standing by to be corrected) it's basically a 5-step process:

1) Wash with proper auto soap
2) Clay bar with some sort of lubricant (I use Mother's liquid detailer spray)
3) Polish
4) Glaze
5) Wax

My personal preference is to apply the wax by hand and then use the buffer to take it off.
Ken's got that idea, but glaze goes last it's just a wet looking layer and fill in the missed sopt.
Get some spray detail anyone will do. do a 1ft by 1ft area at a time roughly. Spay the clay make sure its nice and soft.
Make sure you have 2-4 microfiber cloths.