FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Clutch Master Cylinder Empty?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I feel like a total noob but i need major help with this one guys.

Here's the story.....I know that my clutch master cylinder was leaking....and has been doing it for the longest time... Some of you know that liquid on your clutch pedal...Why haven't i fixed it there and then is beyond me at this point.
I gave the car to my old man and only see it maybe once a week if lucky (we live in different cities). Basically the clutch pedal is very soft now when you press it with the foot and it catches on the gears kinda too quick......very uncomfy to drive.

Could it be cause of my clutch master cylinder or there's something else i should take a look at?

Thanks
Your clutch master cylinder drives a slave cylinder that moves your clutch in and out. If the oil in your master cylinder got low enough (or you have some sort of seal leak in the master cylinder) that you have air in the hydraulic line between the master cylinder and the slave then it will make the pedal spongy and the clutch will not properly disengage.

So what you mainly need to do is to bleed your clutch hydraulics line. Of course, it would make more sense to replace your clutch master cylinder at the same time because you'll need to bleed it then anyways.
Replace it man, its dangerous to have that stuff leaking all the time onto the pedals.
thanks guys!
Laid off yet? Keep buying foreign! Well, they do make better cars.......

WTF is this you asshole?

They make better cars my ass. Check out JD Powers and then maybe replace your ass with a head on your shoulders.

Idiot.
I have better things to do then proving you facts and fighting on the Internet

I loved my Focus until it hit 200k then everything started breaking down on it. You name it. Even engine mount broke when I was driving so my engine almost dropped to the ground