FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Help! Need A Job!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys, I need some direction in finding employment! Can anyone recommend some good "temp agencies" or know of any companies hiring?

I have a bachelor's degree from York and getting my Masters next spring. I can't seem to find any decent jobs with future growth prospects. I'm looking for entry level positions within Bell, Rogers, Banks (ie. bank teller), or other large companies. I've even applied to Mr. Lube for past 2 years and no call backs.

I've been doing nothing but minimum wage jobs as sales at retail stores for years.
Now I see young highschool students getting paid the same or more than me at these jobs so I know its time for me to look for something bigger.

Thanks in advance,

What's your degree in? Will you be doing your Masters full time or while you continue to work?
what field do you have experiance working in, also what location are you looking to work?

Can you speak english/french? Do you have your Canadian passport?
If you were out Hamilton way I could help you with a job at a steel mill. Pays good but its entry level
Sorry not bilingual here. My degree is in Geography and unfortunately nobody told me you'd get next to nothing with that degree except eligibility into Teacher's College lol.

Geography is a great subject, it's too bad it's not specific like say, "accounting" --> accounting job or "registered nurse" --> nursing job.

Some general labour jobs can pay really really well but I'm looking long-term to build/grow a career too. I guess I could always stick with retail like sell shoes and try to work my way up to asst. mngr or manager one day....

I really feel stupid for spending 4-6 years studying in university paying $30K in tuition fees and at the end of it all come out with nothing but minimum wage paying jobs that any kid off the street can apply for too.