FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Starting Over...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
So, the MSP I work for was recently bought by an American company, who specializes in 'leveraging global resources' (ie. sending North American jobs to India). This means...

-Our front line call center gone to India (40+ jobs)
-Our second level call center gone to India (15 jobs)
-Most of our server, network and security engineering gone to India (15 jobs)
-Our IT going to their Enterprise center (1 job - ME)

Some people get to stick around, but it will be a staff of 15, mainly engineering.

I've been a system administrator here now since October, and sucked in all information I could. Linux, Unix, Windows 2000 +, etc. In my previous 3.5 years in operations, I worked on networking gear and servers for customers.

Anybody know of anyone in the Ottawa are looking for an IT person? I have some time due to severance and what not, but I'd like to be able to use my severance to pay down some outstanding debt, and start fresh at a new job.

Any comments/tips/consoling welcome... :)

Ryan
I know of some delivery jobs in Toronto, but none in Ottawa.

Your skills should be able to get you a job on a delivery team.
crapping news.
I'll PM you posting that went up at my work recently. It's out of Toronto though. Let me know if your interested.
if you don't mind travel i recommend applying to consulting firms with large IT implementation practices, like IBM GS, ACN, etc

good luck!
naz,Apr 4 2008, 04:39 PM Wrote:if you don't mind travel i recommend applying to consulting firms with large IT implementation practices, like IBM GS, ACN, etc

good luck!
[right][snapback]261287[/snapback][/right]

PM me... we need good people in delivery..