FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: How Not To Build A Shower....
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Alright, I hope someone on here has some knowledge of this. I"m getting a pro to ask but maybe someone knows off the top of their head.

The shower liner, does it go on the inside or outside of the drywall? My gut tells me they did something wrong in my shower, here is a teardown photo to try and find a leak.

The drywall however watter proof seems to be between the tiles and the liner, is litterally soaked and was instaled all the way below the base. I'm no expert but it just doesn't look right.

[Image: shower.jpg]
I always thought the liner went on the outside, and drywall is an absolute no-no in a shower.. it needs to be concrete board or something waterproof.

Apparently this is "wonderboard"...don't seem very wonderfull to me.
hardk0re,Oct 19 2007, 11:09 AM Wrote:Apparently this is "wonderboard"...don't seem very wonderfull to me.
[right][snapback]251359[/snapback][/right]

Quote:WonderBoard (1/2") has been rated by the Tile Council of America (TCA) for use as part of a ceramic tile installation system for plywood subfloors with 24" o.c. joists and 23/32" exterior grade plywood.

Similar to the other CBU's, WonderBoard must also be installed into a bed of fresh latex modified mortar, seams staggered, screwed or nailed every 8" o.c. and the seams taped with 2" fiber glass mesh tape and leveled with mortar.
I'm fairly certain that if you were to do a cut away of the wall the layering should go tilesner/drywall.

Even with the concrete board or whatever the liner is there to keep it from becoming water logged and having mold grow.
is David Suzuki fixing your shower? :)
habmann,Oct 19 2007, 11:25 AM Wrote:I'm fairly certain that if you were to do a cut away of the wall the layering should go tilesner/drywall.