FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Stiff Sway Bars On Slippery Roads
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Just curious if there is anyone here who uses upgraded sway bars in the winter (snow/ice/slippery road conditions). Would stiffer sway bars decrease my ability to control the car in slippery road conditions? or will it help? or will it have no effect...
My vehicle is an se wagon, and all other suspension components are stock. I know that you guys know how bad the roads can get here before (and sometimes after) the plow/salter does it's job.
Welcome to the site ... are you talking about upgrading both, or just the rear? You say "bars" plural so I assume you mean front and rear.

I'm no expert but it seems to me that in slippery conditions you'll lose traction at the wheel long before you'll experience any effect of the stiffer bars ... so my bet is on "no effect" ... especially since you are upgrading both front and rear.

Having said that ... in terms of safety the SE sedan has no rear bar at all and I don't believe that the SE sport or ZTS (which have rear bars) experience any difference in handling the slippery stuff. So even if you were upgrading just one or the other, I believe the answer would be the same.

Cheers

grandskam,Aug 22 2007, 03:31 AM Wrote:Just curious if there is anyone here who uses upgraded sway bars in the winter (snow/ice/slippery road conditions). Would stiffer sway bars decrease my ability to control the car in slippery road conditions? or will it help? or will it have no effect...
My vehicle is an se wagon, and all other suspension components are stock.  I know that you guys know how bad the roads can get here before (and sometimes after) the plow/salter does it's job.
[right][snapback]247348[/snapback][/right]
get some sticky tires first