FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Planet Ford - Same Planet, Different World
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
As some of you know my profession is communications and inherent to what I do is a requirement for precision and accuracy when it comes to language. I try my best to understand that not everyone has the same sensibilities in this regard; however it is sometimes very difficult to simply ignore stupid stuff.

Having said that … I’m quite sure that any member of this board would have had the same conversation I had this morning at the parts counter at Planet Ford (a.k.a. Bramview).

ME: (reading sign posting special price for rotors for “all 04-06 Focus”) … “Hey, that’s a really good price … may I assume it’s for ’05 to ’06 models?”

RYPG (really young parts guy): “No sir … as the sign says, 2004 to 2006 Focus.”

ME: “Hmmm … okay, are they the bigger Focus rotor, or the smaller ones.”

RYPG (beginning to show signs of frustration): “What year is your Focus sir … it goes by VIN but I’m sure they’re all the same size anyway.”

ME: (calmly, always the consummate professional): “Actually Ford increased Focus rotor diameter by approximately 1 inch beginning with the ’05 model year … so if these are the bigger rotors, they most certainly won’t fit a stock 2004 Focus.”

RYPG (still frustrated, now with sarcasm): “Oh really … well, let’s just take a look, shall we. (with a flourish, enters the part number into the computer) … there now, please tell me sir what that says (pointing to screen).

ME: “It looks like a range of production dates to me.”

RYPG (smugly, sarcasm dripping to a puddle on the floor now): “That’s right sir … and as you can plainly see the first date is in 2004.”