FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: I'm In A Tough Spot. Can Someone Help?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys.

I got asked by a good friend of mine that I work with to write a reference letter for her. She's applying for a new position at another agency and asked me if I could do it as we have a great working relationship. The trouble is, I've never done one of these before.

Has anyone ever done this? And if so, can they give me some pointers???

Thanks.

a.
:postpics:
Sample fellowship recommendation

To whom it may concern:

It gives me great satisfaction to recommend John H. Smythe for the Salem-McKenzie Fellowship in Specialized Journalism. I was John’s professor in three undergraduate Communications courses and worked closely with him at both our college radio station and campus video center.

Like a number of my former students, John has kept in touch. Through his letters I stayed abreast of his television news career in Sacramento and witnessed his development as a professional journalist.

It came as a wonderful surprise last year when John announced his intention to return to school for his master’s degree. Knowing John I am sure he has exhibited the same enthusiasm for his graduate studies as he did with us.

John is highly charismatic and has a terrific on air presence. More importantly, he thinks critically, reasons well and has all the instincts of a good reporter.