FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Bearing, Brake Disc, Or Wheel Problem?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys, It's been a long time since I posted here... What's up?

I have a decent vibration problem on my 2000 spi 200k kms. I just changed my brake pads and I have slotted dics ( probably powerslot). I know they are shot because they vibrate on the pedal when I brake, and I got a mechanic to confirm this. But I also have a vibration going from 95km/h to 120km on the steering, and sometimes on the whole car. I've been using steel wheels since 3 years with no re-balancing. Also, when I turn right on the freeway, I hear a rattling sound. I would think it is a worn bearing, but would the vibration come from an unbalanced wheel or a vibrating disc instead? I just wanna make sure before I order, I am ordering my parts from the U.S. from tousley ford so I need to order it good first time... Thanks for your help!
well if you dont want to spend the money, just get your balance done first. that way you will know if its the tire or disc.

Also i had slotted disc and hated them. they would rust and go way off balance. so maybe you should just stick with the none slotted one this time

Bearings, well when you have your car on the jack, just spin them by hand and listen for the bearing.

So i guess, I would do the following
1- balance tires, while in the shop listen for bearing noise and order if nessasary.
2- drive the car again and if the vibration is still there it will most likely be your disc.

mo_focus,Feb 3 2007, 07:36 PM Wrote:well if you dont want to spend the money, just get your balance done first. that way you will know if its the tire or disc.

Also i had slotted disc and hated them. they would rust and go way off balance. so maybe you should just stick with the none slotted one this time