FocusCanada Forums

Full Version: Free To Fc Members - Today Only!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
** LONG POST WARNING - NOT PARTICULARLY FUNNY AND SFW - DO NOT READ IF YOU ONLY WANT ENTERTAINMENT **

As I was posting in my other thread about the busted radio and the missing rear seat heat ducts, I kept getting this strong feeling of déjà vu... and I just now figured out why.

As some of you know I'm a writer by trade, and at one time was considered something of an expert on customer satisfaction issues ... anyway, about 6 years ago I wrote an internal position paper for a unit of a large multi-national, which I subsequently sold in modified form to a small newspaper chain as a ghost-written op-ed piece.

I've edited it again for your reading convenience ...

Ken’s Cynical Inside Look at Corporate Ford Wrote:One of the most consistent misperceptions in consumer-land is that corporations full of people who care about what they do and are concerned about customer satisfaction and ‘doing the right thing,’ will be corporations that treat their customers right and will in fact have high levels of customer satisfaction.

Oh, but only if this were true. The fact is that a building full of caring employees does not a caring company make and does not by itself result in high levels of customer satisfaction.

Virtually every company I’ve ever worked with is focused on customer satisfaction at all levels of management. What’s more, they also spend lots of money to understand the customer satisfaction “environment” and to get third-party confirmation of their CS results.

But a management focus on customer satisfaction and big CS research budgets do not a caring company make, and they do not necessarily result in high levels of customer satisfaction.