Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Terrible Tires
My focus has the Goodyear Eagle factory tires on it. They were horrible from the beginning with poor grip. They've been on the car for 20,000kms now and they are bald and need to be replaced. I've filed with Ford to have them pay for part of the new tires because I just can't believe the tires should have worn out so quickly. Is this normal for these tires?

Anyway, my wife wants 16" wheels so I'm going to see if I can find a set of stock used ones and maybe just get those instead of dealing with Ford.
There are some for sale on this board.

Check the FOR SALE section.

Ps.

The Goodyears really do suck, however, I managed to get over 88k on mine BEFORE I started swapping out the summer wheels.
20k is what I got out of my khumos. That was with about 9-10 passes at the drag strip.

Im no tire expert, but they should have lasted longer than that!
[Image: ncclogo.jpg]
the goodyears suck but..

the firehawks suck even more..

..the P6 pirellis are'nt exactly a stellar choice on the newer ones either!!

..good luck gettin Ford to pay for rubber...they dont even wanna pay for s*** under warranty, so I really wish you luck in gettin tire reimbursement!...
I know but it's worth a try. 20k is so sad, I had Yoko A520s on my old VW and I had about 50,000 on them. And I also know the problems getting warranty work done. We're in a remote community and whenever we do make it to a dealer, there is some delay and they can't fix it then, even when they have been told what is wrong in advance and I have time booked. Oh and the dealer told me that I should have rotating the tires every 5000kms instead of the 10,000kms on the maintenance schedule. And told me its very common for tires to wear out that quickly. Such a PITA.

microbunny,Sep 7 2006, 05:53 AM Wrote:the goodyears suck but..

the firehawks suck even more..

..the P6 pirellis are'nt exactly a stellar choice on the newer ones either!!