Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need Help
Alright guys the last time I got an oil change I think they spilt some oil and it is sitting between the the aluminum/steel looking cover that covers the stock header and the engine. Either that or it is something else. Anyways when I am driving there is a smell that comesfrom it of burning and when I turn the car off. It appears that this cover is basically if not resting against the engine itself. My question is do I really need this cover on or can I take it off with no worries? Has anyone else had this happen? Any help would be appreciated. Here is a pic of what I'm talking about

Focus Engine Shot
2000 ZX3 - H&R Sport Springs, Fast Wheels, Kumho Tires, MOMO Shift Knob and Boot, Shortened Shifter, K&N Cone Filter
That is just the heat shield, I've been running without mine and with a short header for 3 years now no problem however I have the hood liner.

Apparantly some have said the have had problems with a bare hood. I think it is pretty rare though. You could always get some sort of insulation for the area of the hood directly above.

2001 Focus ZTS 2004 WRX
"I'm just here for the camping"
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=687620231
TEAM P.I.T.A. FTW!
2001 ZTS,Nov 2 2004, 08:24 AM Wrote:That is just the heat shield, I've been running without mine and with a short header for 3 years now no problem however I have the hood liner.

Apparantly some have said the have had problems with a bare hood. I think it is pretty rare though. You could always get some sort of insulation for the area of the hood directly above.
I have never really paid attention to the underside of my hood. Do some of our cars not have the hood liner? I'm still in work but I'll look when I get home this morning. Thanks for the advice though
2000 ZX3 - H&R Sport Springs, Fast Wheels, Kumho Tires, MOMO Shift Knob and Boot, Shortened Shifter, K&N Cone Filter