Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Charge Indicator On Top Of Battery
Hi all

I had a dead alternator replaced today after having the car die on the highway. However the little light on top of the battery is still red - will it turn green again?

I measured the voltage across the battery and got 13V when the car is OFF and 14V when the car is on - so I think the new alternator is running and the battery is charged at least for now. But I am worried that the little light on the battery hasn't gone back to green. Or is it a "once its red it stays red" kind of deal?
2003 ZX3 French Blue; 25/35% tint; shorty antenna; apc clear corners; JVC MP3/CD HU; Sherwood 180W BP Series AMP; Alpine 11-band DSP with BBE processing; 4x Pioneer TS-A6870R 6" x 8" speakers; custom-made 4AWG engine grounding wires
I'm no expert, but it could be an indication of a low electrolyte level caused from the deep discharging...

may need a bit of water to top it off, but maybe someone can verify/deny my claims..
Contribute to focuscanada.net's future!

Donations of $20 and over get a custom title!

darkpuppet,Jul 19 2006, 06:31 PM Wrote:may need a bit of water to top it off, but maybe someone can verify/deny my claims..
[right][snapback]198119[/snapback][/right]

Ding!! ding!!

Pop off the covers and fill it up with water, drive her around for a bit after and she'll be green again. :D
[Image: ncclogo.jpg]
Flofocus,Jul 19 2006, 05:39 PM Wrote:
darkpuppet,Jul 19 2006, 06:31 PM Wrote:may need a bit of water to top it off, but maybe someone can verify/deny my claims..
[right][snapback]198119[/snapback][/right]

Ding!! ding!!

Pop off the covers and fill it up with water, drive her around for a bit after and she'll be green again. :D
[right][snapback]198120[/snapback][/right]

Isn't this a so-called "sealed, maintenance-free" battery that can't be topped up though?
Sure looks like nothing opens up... but I'll go take another look.