Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anybody Go To Caribana?
Anybody go to the Caribana parade yesterday? I've been selling some of my caribana dvds on ebay for a few months now with limited success. I just made this year's dvd from my camcorder footage. I'm hoping I might do better by offering the latest parade.

[Image: 2005small.JPG]

I haven't been to Carribana since they moved the parade from University Avenue, however many years ago that was? Plus I couldn't find my Kevlar bulletproof vest.

I was on Toronto Island today but left on the 10:45AM Wards Island ferry after partying big time all night. I make a point of staying as far as hell away from downtown during Carribanna.

I used to work driving tour/charter boats in Toronto Harbour years ago. During Carribana weekend it is far from a "celebration" of culture unless culture is defined by violence and you can get away with murder by playing the "racism" card.

Carribanna may be, and used to be, a noble idea but its nothing but too many bad people in the same place at the same time the last 10+ years, I don't care what the dollar value to the city is, it is not worth it.

What's the death count for the weekend so far as of tonight anyway?*

*The Police can't say it is Carribanna "related", and go to disturbing legnths to deny the fact, but nobody here (I hope?) is that stupid. It ain't a fluke that more than one tenth of all murders in the City this year happens the same week.
2001 Focus ZTS 2004 WRX
"I'm just here for the camping"
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=687620231
TEAM P.I.T.A. FTW!
*Resists urge to make obligatory Caribana as fruit joke*

I saw the cash the towing industry used to rake in years ago from Caribana, and probably still does. It's sick.

And yes, the violence is also disgusting, year after year. I don't miss it.
Daily driver 1: 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport "S"